top of page

Search Results

Search Results

47 items found for ""

  • St Mark's Graveyard Worsley Manchester

    Welcome to our Website This website is designed to provide information on some of the up to 10,000 people buried at St Mark's Church in Worsley, Greater Manchester. The Foundation Stone for the church was laid on the 15th June 1844 and the graveyard holds a wealth of stories spanning nearly 180 years. All research and information published on this site is courtesy of local author and historian Paul Speakman. Fundraising St Mark's Church is currently trying to raise funds for much needed structural work and is also celebrating the 180th anniversary of its construction. ​ Please see the below ways to contribute to the fundraising effort, Any contribution will be gratefully received. ​ Use your debit/credit card at our contactless machine in the church. In the collection boxes at the back of church. Via your bank – account details - St. Mark’s Church Acc. Number - 14364991 Sort Code - 16 00 01 Online via the church fund raising page - St Mark’s Church Worsley Fundraising ​ You can use the search bar below to search for people on the site. ​

  • Outside | St Mark's Graveyard

    Outside St Mark's Church Worsley Click on image to expand Home

  • Thomas Faulkner | St Mark's Graveyard

    THOMAS FAULKNER THOMAS FAULKNER Capt. East Lancs. Rgt. d.8/10/1943 aged 50 92661 THOMAS FAULKNER was the son of John and Priscilla (née Gorton) Faulkner. He was baptised at Stowell Memorial, Salford, on 16 November 1892 and his parents at that time were living at 18 Lord Byron Street, Weaste. They had been married at St. Mary's, Eccles, on 29 September 1886. Thomas was the husband of Marjorie Faulkner, of Worsley, and was living at 12 Pine Grove, Worsley. His father was living at 3 Grange Avenue, Monton, when he died on 27 June 1934. His effects were left to his widow, Priscilla. Marjorie was Marjorie Fisher, and they married in the 1/4 qtr. 1917 at West Derby. Thomas had 2 sons - John, born in 1923 at Barton; and Robert D. born 1925 at Barton. (Robert) Derek became a highly respected member of the parish church. Thomas died at the Moston Hall Military Hospital, Chester. In his will, he left his estate to his widow, Marjorie. He had enlisted into the Manchester Regiment RA and on his death he was in the infantry branch of the East Lancs. Regt. His name appears in the UK Army Roll of Honour, which is a listing of British Army casualties from World War II. Researched and written by Paul R Speakman Back

  • Leonard Hardman | St Mark's Graveyard

    Leonard Hardman LEONARD HARDMAN Sapper RE d.13/5/1945 aged 28 1649041 LEONARD HARDMAN was the son of Richard and Ethel (née Tennant) Hardman and was born in the third quarter of 1916 in Barton district. He was also the husband of Bertha (née Merritt) Hardman, of Boothstown, Manchester. They were married in the first quarter of 1940, in Barton registration district. His home address was in Farnworth, but he died at Southmead Hospital, Westbury. The role of the Royal Engineers was to maintain railways, roads, water supply and bridges. From 1940, they also disposed of bombs. Researched and written by Paul R Speakman Back

  • Ross Barnes | St Mark's Graveyard

    Ross Barnes ROSS BARNES Rifleman Rifle Brigade 9th Bn. d. 13 October 1916 aged 20 S/7858 ​ Click here for the 9th Rifle Brigade roll of honour (somme-roll-of-honour.com) Ross Barnes was the son of Frederick William and Sarah Ellen (née Hall) Barnes, of 7 Brampton Street, Atherton. In 1911, he was living with his family at 70 Chaddock Lane, Boothstown. His father was a miner and Ross was the seventh born of nine children (5 of which served in WW1). Ross Barnes attested on the 7 January 1915 in Atherton, he was aged 19 and was living at the Volunteer Inn, High Street, Atherton. He was working as a collier. Indeed, in 1911 he was a colliery labourer working underground. He was posted to France on 6 July 1915. He was seriously wounded on 15 September 1916, with gunshot wounds to the chest and head during the Battle of Flers–Courcelette (Somme). His Battalion was part of the 42 brigade which were ordered to attack Flers on the 15th September. ​ "The 42nd Brigade moved forward by compass past Delville Wood, deployed 400 yd (370 m) short of the Switch Line and attacked the third objective thirty minutes late; the right hand battalion was stopped just short and the left hand battalion was also caught by machine-gun fire and forced under cover. The two supporting battalions got further forward and found that the neighbouring divisions had not, enfilade fire meeting every movement " ​ He was sent to the 1st Canadian General Hospital, Etaples, and from there he was transferred to England on 27 September 1916. He died at the Royal Victoria Hospital, Netley, near Southampton, on 13 October 1916 of wounds received and his death was registered at South Stoneham, Hampshire. 472 servicemen died that same day in various locations. A War Gratuity of £8 was paid three years later to his mother. This was money owed to 872,395 soldiers who died while serving in the First World War as well as the latter stages of the Boer War. It was usually paid to their mothers, though wives were also listed. "Rifleman Ross Barnes, of the Lewis Gun Section, who before the war lived at the Volunteer Inn, died in Netley Hospital last week, and was accorded a military funeral last Wednesday. He was wounded first in the breast, the bullet penetrating his body and coming out at his back. He dropped to the ground, and was unable to move, as he was very weak owing to loss of blood. Whilst in this condition he was again wounded very severely in the head. he endeavoured to move, but had to stay where he was. Later he was found by two men, who took him to the base. From here, he was sent to Netley Hospital, Southampton, where he was operated on three times. Rifleman Barnes was 19 years of age. Before the war he worked at the Pretoria Pit. The remains of Pte. Barnes were interred in Worsley Parish Churchyard on Wednesday afternoon, with full military honours. A detachment of the guard at the Leigh Prisoners of War Camp, under Sgt. J. Glover, and accompanied by Corpl. Baker, Corpl. Jobson and Lance-Corpls. Wilding and Slack, paraded at the deceased's residence, along with the Royal Defence Corps, Leigh, who attended by permission of Capt. Tilly, various Volunteer Defence Corps, and local soldiers. The soldiers and volunteers marched with the cortege to Tyldesley New Road, and afterwards continued the procession at Mosley Common, where they were joined by the Boothstown Boy Scouts,, under Scoutmaster W. H. Barnes, and members of the Boothstown Wesleyan Girls' Society. The blinds at all the residences at Boothstown, where deceased was well known, were drawn as a tribute of respect, and a large number of friends and sympathisers gathered at Worsley Parish Church, amongst those present at the graveside being Messrs. W. M. Edge, J. Hurst (Swinton), T. Wallwork, C. Atkinson (Little Hulton), D. C. Potter, S. Hall, J. Hall, A. Mann, J. Edge and Mr. Greenall, junr. The coffin, which was draped with the Union Jack, was borne to the grave by six soldiers on leave, and after the service which was conducted by the Rev. P. Burnett of Boothstown, three volleys were fired, and the 'Last Post' sounded. Wreaths were placed on the grave from - Father, mother and family, his uncle and aunts, Saunders, Potter and Barber, Mr. and Mrs. T. Barnes, Ted and Polly, neighbours of High Street, and Bolton Old Road, members of the Volunteer Inn Club, officers and teachers of the Atherton Wesleyan Sunday School; a few friends of the kitchen; Mrs. Dugdale and family; Fred and Martha; Sam and Dan; Mr. and Mrs. Harris and family; Mr. and Mrs. Roberts and Bessie; Mr. and Mrs. Greenhalgh and family; his nephew Freddy, Mr. and Mrs. E. Morris and family, Mr. and Mrs. F Grundy, Mr. and Mrs. Barker, Walter and Eunas, Mrs. Liptrot and family, Boothstown Senior Girls' Club, Mrs. E. Barnes and family. The funeral arrangements were carried out by Mr. Seager of Atherton." (Local newspaper) Researched and written by Paul R Speakman Back

  • John Patrick | St Mark's Graveyard

    John B Patrick JOHN BUSBY PATRICK LAC RAF.VR d.28/1/1943 aged 29 1081463 ​ Curiously, the gravestone in the churchyard gives his name as John Busby Patrick, although the burial records give his name as John Bushby Patrick It has so far proven very difficult to track down any meaningful information about this serviceman, either in his personal life or during the Second World War. Most servicemen's records are still held by the Ministry of Defence, before their release to the National Archives. Sadly, the CWGC records give no information about his parents, so the following details can only be conjecture. In the church's burial records, his home address was given as Atherton House, Appley Bridge, near Wigan. Interestingly, on 18 August 1943, a Lillian Patrick, aged 80, was buried in the churchyard. Her abode was also given as Atherton House. According to her will, she died a spinster. In the 1881 census, she was living at Grange Farm, Boothstown, with her family, which included William Johnston Patrick, her brother. He too was buried in the churchyard, on 6 March 1945, aged 69. William married Annie Tait Coulter in 1905 and she too is buried at St.Mark's (2 August 1942). Her abode at that time was Atherton House!! The supposition has to be that Lillian was a great-aunt to John Buckley, and that she was living with her brother and his family at Atherton House. The presumption has to be that William J. and Annie Tait could well have been the parents of John Buckley. And yet, curiously, there is no birth record for him! There is a death record for a John B. Patrick, who was 29, for the first quarter (Jan - Mar) of 1943. Both the age and date are consistent. Furthermore, the death was registered at Aylesbury, not far from RAF Halton, where the Princess Mary's Hospital was based. The hospital housed a Plastic Surgery and Burns Centre during the war and great demands upon the unit meant a huge increase in the number of beds. By the end of the war, more than 20,000 casualties had been treated there. John Buckley Patrick's name can be found on the website internationalbombercommandcentre.com as a member of 26 OTU Squadron. His date of death, age, service number and the graveyard at St.Mark's are all given. No. 26 OTU was formed in January 1942 at RAF Wing as part of No. 7 Group RAF Bomber Command to train night bomber crews using the Vickers Wellington . It was disbanded in March 1946. RAF Wing was situated to the west of the village of Wing, near Aylesbury, Bucks. The marriage certificate confirms that he married Florence Hughes at Leigh register office on 15 April 1933. It also shows that his middle name was Bushby, and that he was a general dealer, aged 19. Florence was 21. John's home address was Rixton Old Hall, Rixton with Glazebrook, and his father was William Johnson Patrick. He was buried here on 1 February 1943, and in the bu rial register his abode was given as Aylesbury, and then Atherton House, Appley Bridge, near Wigan. The reference to Aylesbury is consistent with the details above. Researched and written by Paul R Speakman Back

  • E to H | St Mark's Graveyard

    Private Graves E-H EDEN Thomas EGERTON Granville EGERTON George ELLIS Family. EGERTON Arthur EGERTON Adml. Francis EILBECK Henry EVANS Joseph EGERTON Algernon EGERTON Francis ELLIS Pte.Thomas EVERARD Ernest FILDES Samuel FRUEN Philip GLASS Percy GRADISKY Charles GRUNDY Alice FORRESTER Richard FRITH John Douglas GOODBRAND Walter GREVILLE Harriet Catherine GRUNDY F. W. D. FOULKES Edward GASKELL John GORTON Richard GROVER Family GRUNDY Joshua GUEST Family HADFIELD Peter HAMPSON James GUEST Thomas HALLIWELL Albert HAMPSON William GUEST William HALLIWELL Simeon HARDMAN Walter HARGREAVES Frank HAZLEWOOD Edward HESFORD Isaac HARRIS Andrew HEATON Henry Capt. HIGGIN George HARRISON William HEBDEN Elizabeth HODGSON Mary HOLLAND James HOWORTH Margaret HURST Albert HURST Samuel (Linnyshaw) HUTCHINSON Richard HOWELL John HULSE Enoch HURST Lot HURST William HOWELL James HULSE Thomas HURST Samuel HUTCHINSON Ellen Home

  • William Goodall | St Mark's Graveyard

    William Goodall WILLIAM GOODALL Private Training Reserve d. 7 July 1917 aged 29 TR/3/30329 William Goodall was attached to the Manchester Regiment, in the 26th reserve Battalion. He died at the Military Hospital, Studley Roger, and the parish burial records show that he was buried here on 12 July 1917. He was the son of Ruth Goodall (later a widow) and Henry Goodall and was born in early 1888. In 1901, he lived at 213 Whit Lane, Pendleton. William worked in a bleach works. By 1911, he was working as a jewellery shop assistant and lived at 2 George Street, Pendleton. The National Probate Calendar for William Eastham Goodall, dated 16 October 1917, states that he lived at 15 Blantyre Street, Worsley Road, Winton, and that he died at the Military Hospital Ripon Administration. He was a Private in H. M. Army. William had married Margaret Jane Calderbank Hoyle at St. Mark's on 1 June 1914. Eventually, she remarried, (in late 1924) to William Haywood Drinkwater of Pendleton. She died on 5 April 1935 and he in turn died in March 1951. Researched and written by Paul R Speakman Back

  • Herbert Moores | St Mark's Graveyard

    Herbert Moores HERBERT MOORES Sgt. Manchester Regiment 18th Bn. d. 18 July 1916 aged 32 Herbert Moores attested (ie. declared himself willing to serve) on 4th September 1914, aged 30, just five weeks after the outbreak of war. He was appointed Lance Corporal on 5th November 1914 and Corporal on 5th June 1915. Posted to France on 8th August 1915, he was later promoted to Lance Sergeant on 3rd December 1915 and Sergeant on 8 March 1916. He was wounded on 10th July 1916 and was transported back to England three days later on the 13th July on the S. S. Asturias. He died from a gunshot wound to his back at the 1st Western General Hospital, Liverpool. His effects were recorded as 2 one pound notes 2 fifty franc notes 2 twenty franc notes 3 five franc notes 1 note book 6 photos 1 steel mirror in case 4 communion cards private papers 1 note case. Herbert was born in Swinton to James and Jane Moores on 5 April 1884 and was baptised at Holy Rood on 1 June by G. F. Dearden. In 1911, he was living as a single man, aged 26, with his parents at Hazlehurst Cottage, Worsley. His occupation was listed as Municipal Clerk at Manchester Council. Ten years earlier, in 1901, he was 16 and was a Corporation Clerk, living then at 2 Hazlehurst Road with his family. His father James had married Jane Cordwell, 25, a Mill Hand, of King St., Irlams o'th' Height on 17 June 1880 at St. John the Evangelist, Pendlebury. Sergeant Herbert Moores, of Hazelhurst Cottage, Moorside, and one of the City "Pals", has died in hospital at Fazackerley, near Liverpool, from wounds he received during the second part of the great advance. The actual day on which he was wounded is not yet known, but it was between the 7th and 12th inst. He arrived at Liverpool on Saturday evening and the members of his family have been to see him. One of his brothers was present when he died on Tuesday evening. Sergeant Moores was in the desperate struggle for Tropes Wood, and was hit, it is thought, by a sniper. One of this deadly class of shots had killed four of their men, and Sgt. Moores had moved to the flank to try and locate him, but he was immediately hit and fell into a shell hole. On another occasion he informed his relatives, he was with an officer and 20 men entrenching in the wood when shells fell like snowflakes and only eight of the party came through safely. Before being brought to England he underwent an operation in one of the field hospitals. He had several wounds and a second operation would have been performed at Fazackerley , but he was too weak. Sgt. Moores enlisted in the 3rd City Pals Battalion (Manchester Regiment) in August 1914, and went out to France last November. He was very well-known in Moorside. He was a prominent member of the Holy Rood Church choir, and also a member of the Conservative Club. A popular member of the Holy Rood Cricket club, he had for several seasons done good sevice as a fast bowler. Before enlisting, he was on the Town Clerk's staff at the Manchester Town Hall. His body will be brought home for interment. The funeral, which is expected to be of a military character, will take place on Saturday afternoon at Worsley Church, after a special service at Holy Rood Church. (Local newspaper) Researched and written by Paul R Speakman Back

  • James Howell | St Mark's Graveyard

    James Howell JAMES HOWELL Gunner RA 19 Dec. 1940 d.15/12/1940 aged 30 1465093 ​ JAMES HOWELL was attached to 80 Battery, 21 Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment. He was the husband of Edna (née Williams) Howell of Worsley. They married in the fourth quarter of 1931 in Barton district. He was the father of Peter (who was aged 1 at his death) and Glenys (aged 5 at his death). At his death, his address was 206 Leigh Road, Boothstown. His parents might have been John and Ellen (née Worthington), who were married on 26 July1909 at St.Paul's, Walkden. In 1911, they were living at 20 Mayfield Avenue, Walkden, and James was 10 months old. Researched and written by Paul R Speakman Back

  • Geoffrey Topham | St Mark's Graveyard

    Geoffrey Topham GEOFFREY TOPHAM Cpl RAF d.3/12/1941 aged 20 72127 GEOFFREY TOPHAM was the son of Harold Corless Topham and Winifred (née Hyde), of Chorlton- cum-Hardy, Manchester. His birth was registered in Barton district in early 1921. The circumstances of his death are difficult to verify, but it is possible that he may have been flying a Beaufighter I - T4703 - of No.1 OADU (Overseas Aircraft Delivery Unit). This aircraft had been reported as a loss for this day, having collided with Beaufighter T4715 on take-off at RAF Portreath, 27 OTU. However, his death was registered at Newcastle under Lyme and this makes the above scenario unlikely. ​ Researched and written by Paul R Speakman Back

  • Norman Gorick | St Mark's Graveyard

    Norman Gorick NORMAN GORICK Fg.Off. RAF.VR d. 31 January 1943 aged 21 124505 ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ RAF Dishforth opened in September 1936 and at the start of World War 2 it became part of 4 Group, Bomber Command. The base was primarily used for recruit training. At 0212 hrs. on 31 January 1943, a Vickers Wellington Mark X, serial number HE173, took off from Dishforth on a night training exercise. At that period, Dishforth was home to Royal Canadian Air Force squadrons, a part of RAF Bomber Command. There was a crew of four on the Wellington - pilot F/O Norman Gorick, aged 21; navigator F/O George Wood (26), RCAF, of Canada, Fl/Sgt. William Mossop, aged 24, air gunner who was also the wireless operator; and Sgt. J. Welsh, an air gunner. Within one minute of take-off, the aircraft caught fire and crashed just one mile to the NW of the airfield, near Lingham Lane Farm. The only survivor was Sgt. J. Welsh, who was the rear gunner. This accident was the first loss of an aircraft from 428 squadron since its formation, 428 squadron had been formed on 7 November 1942 and later acquired the nickname the "Ghost" squadron, since none of the original squadron members survived. NORMAN GORICK was the son of William and Edith Rachel Gorick, of 449 Worsley Road, Winton. He had attended Eccles Grammar School as a pupil, and was a keen sportsman, playing football for the school team and cricket at Winton Cricket Club. After leaving school he started work with the Prudential Assurance Co. Ltd. At the outbreak of the war, he joined the Home Guard and was in No.5 Platoon of "A" Company of the 42nd Lancaster Battalion. Soon after, in June 1941, he enlisted in the RAF.VR. He went to California, USA, to train as a pilot. Whilst at the flying school, he was awarded the Gold Star Merit Award and was awarded his wings in April 1942. He received his commission as a Pilot Officer in the RAF.VR on 1 May 1942. He returned to the UK in June 1942 and it is reported that he began operational duties immediately. On 1 November 1942, he was promoted to Flying Officer. Norman Gorick is commemorated on the Worsley Methodist Church War Memorial, a church he had attended. When that church closed in 2011, the memorial board was transferred to the parish Church of St.Mark, Worsley, where it is now affixed to the inside of the south wall. Researched and written by Paul R Speakman Back

bottom of page